How to Direct on Set for a Smooth Edit – Just Shoot It #16

In the 16th episode of Just Shoot It Oren goes through his favorite ideas of what to do on set so that your editor has options in post. We also discuss listener questions and set etiquette. Buckle in.

– Chad Vader https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G-t5V_fHDgI

– Quiznos Burn Trials https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CBVBHRD5lNU

– Set Etiquette http://masteringfilm.com/12-essential-set-etiquette-tips/

– Directing for a Smooth Edit

1. Technical Stuff

* Slate in the first frame https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bd7BPX8oEeE

* 180 degree rule http://learnaboutfilm.com/film-language/sequence/180-degree-rule/

* shooting inserts

*  “operate a little bit more”

2. Bonus Shots

* At the end of a take, pan over to get some reactions and bits and pieces

* Article about There Will Be Blood inconsistent lighting https://www.theasc.com/ac_magazine/January2008/ThereWillBeBlood/page1.php

3. Coming into a shot

* Move the camera at the opening of a shot

4. Think of Sound

* Record walla in the environment

* Record foley with the props that you have

– Gino Roy’s Previous work for Disney (Blank) https://play.google.com/store/movies/details?id=FitJ3hgxiAg

– Unpaid Endorsements

* Do NOT Buy Mad Max Fury Road http://www.amazon.com/Mad-Max-Fury-Blu-ray-Digital/dp/B00XQ13ZSO

* Hannah Lux Davis http://hannahluxdavis.com/

* Music Libraries

+ Extreme Music https://www.extrememusic.com

+ Audio Jungle http://audiojungle.net

+ Premium Beat http://premiumbeat.com

+ Killer Tracks http://killertracks.com

+ Audio Socket http://audiosocket.com

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s